Creative Plans For The Weekend

What a week that was for my day job! Everything financial seemed due at once – yearly company accounts, payroll, invoicing, minimum wage oversight forms. I did a six day week working until 11pm some nights. And I hate numbers.

Still, I managed a few blog and Instagram posts, and I read 250 pages of a short horror story collection (New Fears, Mark Morris ed.), and a small publication on birth control from 1832 for research. The work week was not a complete write off creatively, but I felt stifled.

When I signed off on my day job last night at 7pm, I vowed I would immerse myself in words and creativity for my author brand this weekend.

I intend to:

  • Plan at least 3 blog posts for next week on top of scheduled posts.
  • Update my website with a section on free writing prompts (also appearing on this blog).
  • Design several promotional posts to appear on Instagram as well as a few informative posts like snapshot book reviews, a look at research for my current writing projects, and recently read books (also appearing on this blog).
  • Update my website with a page for the design side of my sole trader publishing company. Drop Hammer Publishing will benefit from the addition of Drop Hammer Design.
  • Review New Fears on Amazon, Goodreads.
  • Finish the first draft of one of the short horrors in my WIP.

Just to prove I’m not all about work, whether it is for the day job or for katiamdavis.com, I’m making my late aunt’s super potato salad and coleslaw to take to a BBQ at my cousin’s this evening. For a change, the weather in England is fine so we have to make the most of it before it starts raining again.

Looks like I’ve got a busy weekend and I can’t wait. This is why I am awake at 5.30am drafting this post while it is in my head. Now I might grab another hour of shut eye before I get on with it!

If you’d like to know more about me and my writing or join my email list, click on the image below.

Leave a comment